Quest?onn?ng God   Leave a comment

Question God ?

Question God ?

I grew up in a family who professed to be Christians but were not living as christians should. I was going to church with them because I had to. As I grew up I started to wonder whether the bible was really true. Some of the teachings taught did not make sense to me and others were really funny. I had so many questions, I asked the leaders some questions and I was really disappointed by their answers. I was bored with their prayer meetings because there were only repetitions of songs and prayer requests. I eventually stopped to go. I went on Sundays and Fridays. It was only the fridays I found ok, because it was not lengthy and I liked what some preachers taught.

The bible was written through the hand of man and this made me skeptic. How could I know whether the Jesus of the bible really existed? How could I be sure that the so-called disciples of Jesus did not concoct together to invent a story on the life of Jesus? Was Jesus a myth?

It was impossible for me to digest that Jesus could be God. I was sure that there was either a God or not a God at all. I was sure that there could not be many gods for God is a supreme being. Supreme means above everything else. If there are many gods then there can be no ‘supreme beingS‘.

On the Internet, I saw some well known Christian scholars trying to prove that what the bible taught was true. I really did not care about what they said. For me, they were biased. Anyone can bring forward an argument and claim it is irrefutable. I said to myself that the parents of these theologians did their job well by brainwashing them. I despised Christians who blindly believed everything they were taught.

God said to Israel:

This is what the LORD says—your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the LORD your God,who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go Isaiah 48:17

I wanted to know this God of the bible because there were things taught by Jesus which really touched me. I cried to this God of Israel. If He was willing to teach the Israelites, could He do the same for me?

It did not take long before He started to reveal Himself through the bible to me. Things in the bible which were unclear to me were now facts. But still, I could not believe that Jesus could be God. For me, Jesus was only a sacrifice sent by God to forgive sins .

When I studied the Epistle of Hebrews, I bowed down to my knees and acknowledged that Jesus was indeed God. It was now clear to me how Jesus could be God. This became so central to my belief that I started to write a lot on it. God personally dealt with my unbelief, this God of Israel answered all questions which were crucial for me to know.

The church I was in taught a doctrine which really frustrated me and made me anguish. I wrote letters to the leaders to explain my disagreements. My letters were not appreciated. I talked many times with the pastor and so many leaders about it but no one gave me an answer which made sense. Their answers were in contradiction with what the bible taught. I eventually left this church.

The beauty of Christianity is that God reveals Himself through His Word and the Spirit. No one could help me to know this God, but He came to let Him known to me. How this happened is another story. By grace I’m now a follower of Jesus Christ.

Sinners can question this God and this God will find a solution for their unbeliefs and sins. He did it for the Israelites.

Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool. ” Isaiah 1:18

The Bereans did the same :

The Bereans were very glad to receive Paul’s message. They studied the Scriptures carefully every day. They wanted to see if what Paul said was true.” Acts 17:11

Thomas saw all the miracles Jesus did, He heard all the life-changing teachings Jesus said but when Jesus died He could not believe that He was alive again. I see myself as doubting Thomas. Even though many people told me about this Jesus, I still refused to trust in Him. Jesus knew what Thomas said and He appeared to this man to remove all doubts. He did the same for me and I now acknowledge that Jesus is God.

Thomas was one of the Twelve. He was called Didymus. He was not with the other disciples when Jesus came. So they told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “First I must see the nail marks in his hands. I must put my finger where the nails were. I must put my hand into his side. Only then will I believe what you say.” A week later, Jesus’ disciples were in the house again. Thomas was with them. Even though the doors were locked, Jesus came in and stood among them. He said, “May peace be with you!”

Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here. See my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen me but still have believed.”

God said to Job:

The Lord spoke to Job out of a storm. He said, “Who do you think you are to disagree with my plans? You do not know what you are talking about. Get ready to stand up for yourself. I will ask you some questions.Then I want you to answer me.“Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?Tell me, if you know. ” Job 38

Why did God send Jesus to die on a cross? That did not make sense to me(but later I got understood). How could blood forgive sins? When I read what God said to Job, I stopped disagreeing. I acknowledged how foolish I were to refuse God.

I am the Mighty One. Will the man who argues with me correct me?Let him who brings charges against me answer me!”Job replied to the Lord, “I’m not worthy. How can I reply to you?I’m putting my hand over my mouth. I’ll stop talking.I spoke once. But I really don’t have any answer.I spoke twice. But I won’t say anything else.” Job 40

Job finally said :

Then Job replied to the LORD:

“I know that you can do all things;
no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’
Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
things too wonderful for me to know.

You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me
.’
My ears had heard of you
but now my eyes have seen you.
Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes.” ”

God will one day judge every human beings. He will ask them “Why have not you believed in my Son Jesus” (John 3:18, 1 John 5:10). No one will ever be able to justify his/her unbelief. Here on earth we can still ask questions. Afterwards, it will be too late. It will be God’s turn to ask questions and no one will be able to defend himself/herself.

Posted June 19, 2011 by Cedric in Thought-provoking

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

