Failures   2 comments

Never Give up

Never Give up


“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”
Thomas A. Edison

Thomas Edison tried again and again to find the proper combination for his inventions. The way he interpreted his failures made him more experienced. One good thing about failure is that you know through experience why/how/when you should not do something. Failure makes you become humble and request for help and support.

Suppose that I play darts for the first time with another beginner. Let’s say that I ignore that my opponent’s height is by luck perpendicular to the bull’s eye and that he always throws with the same strength and hits it. Let’s say that I have not been able to hit the red dot even once. I would be frustrated, it would be total failure…

Let’s say that this scenario above occurs 10 times. I’m quite certain that I’ll gain experience, I’ll know what angle I should throw my darts and adapt to the situation. Little by little I’ll be able to get closer to the bull’s eye.

Now what will happen if my opponent and I move a step backward? My opponent will always miss the red dot if he keeps throwing as he did before. But since I failed before and gained experience, I’ll be able to adapt to this new situation quicker and win.

Some people succeed just by luck or because they have all the ingredients around them to make them succeed. Other people have to toil hard to get these ingredients. The good thing with those who toil hard is that they know through experience where to look for what they need and where not to(failure). Those who are provided everything and succeed think they are so perfect. But remove these crutches and see whether they stand firm!

Failure makes you more mature, strengthens the muscles of perseverance in you, it destroys your ego and sharpens your skills. Look at your failures, you must have learned from them.

Darts

Darts

P.s. It’s also not what people say about you that makes you great/dull. It’s what God thinks of you which matters! So when your problem is eating you up, you gotta grab it by the neck and never give up! May God be with you πŸ™‚

Posted November 26, 2011 by Cedric in Thought-provoking

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “Failures

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good post, Cedric and so timely. Thanks

  2. Failure forms part of life’s cycle because no one is perfect πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

