An unbiased presentation of Christianity – that’s what our youths need!   2 comments

Young-christians

Young-christians

Young people, I’m writing to you because you have won the battle over the evil one. ” 1 John 2:13

Like a good soldier of Christ Jesus, share in the hard times with us. A soldier does not take part in things that don’t have anything to do with the army. He wants to please his commanding officer. In the same way, anyone who takes part in a sport doesn’t receive the winner’s crown unless he plays by the rules.” 2 Tim 2

Unfortunately, we see our soldiers occupied by things which do not have anything to do with the army.

Pious young people have such power and zeal. But there’re few of them for many reasons.

From my observation, here are the main reasons:

1) Parents did not take their responsibilities of educating their children in the faith.
(This is most probably because the parents themselves do not really know Jesus and that’s why they can’t teach about Him)
2) The church does not encourage them, pray for them and meet their needs.
3) The young persons prefer the “evil desires of youth” instead of remaining in Christ.
Run away from the evil things that young people long for. Try hard to do what is right. Have faith, love and peace. Do these things together with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.” 2 Tim 2:22.

I’m currently meditating on the roles youths had in evangelism in Paul’s time (e.g. Titus, Timothy, Stephen). David, Samuel, Shadrach, Meshach, Abednego are some youths which God used to do mighty things in the OT. God has always been using young people for His glory.

Where are these youths who are supposed to have Christ in them? Where are these temples of the Spirit?

Young people have such vitality, power, vision, energy, they like challenges, they are bold and they have such an important role to play in the body of Christ.

I read many blogs of bible teachers who say over and over again that parents play an important role in the child’s decision in following Christ. This is biblical.

Train a child in the way he should go. When he is old, he will not turn away from it.” Prov 22:6

Parents don’t want their children to go to hell, they want their children to live wisely, honor them, be full of love, respect people, be happy and succeed. Jesus can do all this. Why not doing like Hannah, the mother of Samuel? Entrust your daughter and son to Jesus.

My parents went to church but were not good examples of Christians. The only thing that made me follow Christ is the teachings I saw in the bible. My father bought a bible for me in 2001 and it was the greatest gift he gave me without realising it. I could not rely on the church to help me know Christ and put me on the right track.

I was alone to choose the path to take. No counselors, no examples to follow. By God’s grace, by His patience in teaching me, I’m a follower of Jesus-Christ. Calamities came, but I remained in Christ because I know in whom I have believed. People who know all the troubles my family went through consider me a miracle. They wonder how I’m still a Christian.

I met with Christ, I know what He did for me. I do not have the slightest doubt that He is God and that He’ll come to earth to judge and reign.

In my opinion, the only thing which can make someone take a radical decision in following Christ is meeting Him personally. Like Paul on the road to Damascus, He saw the Light. He has never been the same since.

Simple as it is, we need to be vessels to show Christ to them. Stop feeding them every sundays with boring sermons(as they consider it), teach them how to read the bible. Teach them to prepare a sharing. Make them think. Let them question Christianity. Don’t be afraid of doing that because Jesus claimed to be the Way, the Life and the Truth. I questioned Jesus and Christianity for years. Jesus never failed to show me that He is what He claimed to be. Let not these youths think that you’re tricking and brainwashing them every Sundays. Encourage them to question what you believe. Only then can they personally have their own opinion and know in whom they are told to believe. A man who has his own opinion about something is definitely stronger than someone who does not know what he believes in. I do not believe in Jesus because of my pastor or my parents. The church can close its doors, my parents can abandon me, I will keep on following Christ. Many people who go to church think they are Christians but they are not. It’s a tragedy. They never met with the Christ of the bible. They worship a fictitious Christ. This should not be the case for this new generation. Stop interpreting a verse for them. Let them think, let them reason. Pious Christians don’t follow God with the heart only, but with their mind also.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul. Love him with all your mind.” Mat 22:37

They need to be convinced intellectually that Jesus is the truth. They need to be given an unbiased presentation of Christianity. Only then their faith will be on the Solid Rock.

I’m not saying that we should intellectualize the Gospel, far from it! There’re many honest Bereans(Acts 17) out there who examine what they are taught. Could you imagine what would have happened if the Bereans found some flaws in Paul’s teachings? But no, it’s because they examined that they were personally convinced. The Samaritans said to the Samaritan woman : “Now we believe, not just because of what you told us, but because we have heard him ourselves. Now we know that he is indeed the Savior of the world.” John 4

Many people believe blindly in a religion because it’s the religion or their parents or country. They were born a hindu/muslim/buddhist/catholic. It should not be so with Christianity and it cannot be so because no one is born a Christian. To become a Christian one has to understand what it’s about and personally commit his/her life to Christ. If we force someone to love someone else, this is not genuine love. We cannot force/brainwash someone to become a Christian. If it has been so, this person is simply not a Christian. A Christian knows in whom he/she believes.

Posted January 23, 2012 by Cedric in Thought-provoking

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “An unbiased presentation of Christianity – that’s what our youths need!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, Cedric, so much in this post that is challenging, sad, amazing, encouraging.
    I’ve just spent some time this evening with my step daughter. She in her mid teens and so bright, so smart.
    I completely agree that young people should be allowed to question. I was born again at a time when questioning wasnt encouraged and so you were told what was the right thing to believe, how to act etc and basically not think for myself. I wonder now if its why I sometimes still struggle with some of the basics of faith. I pray that one day she will know God for herself. So many feel without hope or are determined to make it as they try to fight their way in this world of double standards.

    I had no idea you & your family had been through hard times. What a testimony to those who know you and your family that they see you still strong in your faith. It’s amazing.
    I agree that the church’s approach to faith could use a shake up. A parent recently told me that her teens are ready to stop going to the teen groups because they can’t see the relevance.They aren’t challenged, they just watch videos that they can see at home. They want something that stimulates their minds. God is that Person.

  2. Christianity is not a religion where we follow traditions and follow what a leader say. Christians are people who follow the God-man Jesus-Christ. They follow Jesus because they know Him personally.

    The Samaritans in Sychar said “We no longer believe just because of what you said. We have now heard for ourselves. We know that this man really is the Savior of the world.” John 4:42

    This verse above is what our youths should say to their parents and to the world.

Leave a Reply

