Confessing Jesus   Leave a comment

Confessing

Confessing

What about someone who says in front of others that he knows me? I will also say in front of my Father who is in heaven that I know him. But what about someone who says in front of others that he doesn’t know me? I will say in front of my Father who is in heaven that I don’t know him.” Mat 10:32

This is such a powerful verse. If you confess that you belong to Jesus, you’re proud to say that He is your Master, your God and your Savior. You affirm with vehemence and conviction that He is Lord of your life and that there’s no one else in this world who you will ever be able to love more than Him. I don’t take any tag of denomination on me(Baptist, Pentecostal or whatever), call me a follower of Jesus-Christ. Period.

Jesus clearly said: “Anyone who is not with me is against me. Anyone who does not gather sheep with me scatters them.” Luke 11:23

Through this statement, one cannot say: “Look Jesus I don’t have anything against you, I know you were a good man who said beautiful things but I don’t want to get involve with you or be tagged your follower.”

If you’re not with Jesus you’re against Him. Period. There’s no neutral state. When someone professes He belongs to Jesus, He wants the world to know that he’s a follower of Jesus. He really does not care what people think of his choice. He’s not ashamed to say that Jesus is his God.  He does not keep it a secret. Confessing Jesus also means supporting and teaching what He taught. Jesus is the One you imitate and want to follow. You feel hurt when people twist His teachings. You want the world to know who He is and what He did for you. He is the source of your joy and reason to live “For in him we live, and move, and have our being” (Act 17:28).

Paul said: I am not ashamed of the good news(gospel). It is God’s power. And it will save everyone who believes. It is meant first for the Jews. It is meant also for those who aren’t Jews.  Romans 1:16

If you believe in Jesus, you’re not ashamed of the Good News about Christ. You know that the gospel is God’s power to save anyone who wants to believe no matter who he is. There’re some few people that I’m proud to say are good friends. I consider it an honor to be with them. I know I can count of them and that they will always give me good counsels and rebuke me with love when I’m wrong. Walking, eating, working with them is such an honor and pleasure. You feel hurt when they are hurt because you value them. They care for you and you know it. I’m not ashamed to say that these people are my friends to the world.  What about Jesus? Do you value Jesus more than a close friend?

I might have deceived these few good friends from time to time but they remained faithful and compassionate. They made what they could to push me forward, to encourage me and pray for me.

This is a trustworthy saying: “If we die with him,we will also live with him.If we endure hardship,we will reign with him. If we deny him,he will deny us.If we are unfaithful,he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.”

We can have confidence in this verse above. Because we believe that Christ died for us, our sinful nature was buried with Him and we now live by His life. If we do not give up and persevere in trials, we’ll also rule with Him. Yeah, if they persecuted the Master why should we be exempted(Mat 10:25)? But if we deny Him through our deeds and say we do not know Him, how can He confess before the angels in heaven and the Father, “This is my brother, this is my friend”?

Here is my command. Love each other, just as I have loved you. No one has greater love than the one who gives his life for his friends.You are my friends if you do what I command. I do not call you servants anymore. Servants do not know their master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends. I have told you everything I learned from my Father.”

If we profess we are Christians and deny Him by our bad deeds, He cannot associate Himself with people who disowns His holy name. How can He say “Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful...” Mat 25:23

Such people claim they know God, but they deny him by the way they live. They are detestable and disobedient, worthless for doing anything good..” Titus 1:16

Proclaiming that Jesus is Lord is demonstrated by our way of living and what we confess. The way we live and what we confess are adoration unto Him. Jesus is honored when we glorify His name on the earth.

This is what we read in the Epistle to the Hebrews:

So now Jesus and the ones he makes holy have the same Father. That is why Jesus is not ashamed to call them his brothers and sisters.For he said to God,“I will proclaim your name to my brothers and sisters.I will praise you among your assembled people.” Hebrews 2:11

If Jesus, the One whom angels adore night and day is not ashamed to call poor creatures like us His brothers and sisters, how disrespectful it is to make as if we don’t know Him!

This is what Jesus said to the church of Sardis:

He who overcomes shall be clothed in white garments, and I will not blot out his name from the Book of Life; but I will confess his name before My Father and before His angels.” Rev 3

Confessing that Jesus is Lord Has as eternal effect. This is the Good News Paul preached:

And that message is the very message about faith that we preach: If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. As the Scriptures tell us, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be disgraced.”

This is the power of confession. When we acknowledge that Jesus is our Lord, that He died and  is alive, we are actually recognising God’s provision to forgive our sins. Our life should declare that Jesus is Lord.

Posted May 26, 2012 by Cedric in Theology

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

