Ministers of the Gospel   Leave a comment

Steward of God's gifts

Steward of God’s gifts

I have read several books about people whom God called to serve as missionaries, pastors, teachers and evangelists. Two people who come to my mind are Andrew Murray and Jim Stiers. I read several books of Andrew Murray. I still wonder how could this man know God this much. Andrew Murray was called to teach even if he served as pastor. Jim Stiers was a missionary to Brazil and God did amazing miracles while he was on the field. I listened to the songs composed by JEM (YWAM in english). These songs are so beautiful and inspired (e.g. The album Pour Louer). I also listened to the Christian band Rhema some 10 years ago. I’m still blessed by those lyrics they wrote. How about Keith Green? This Gospel singer has such an original way of preaching and living the gospel. I read his writings and it’s amazing what he wrote. With or without money, these people served Christ with all their heart. They knew Christ. You could see it in their writings, teachings, songs and life. As the author of the Epistle to the Hebrews says, we should imitate the examples of such people (Hebrews 6:12). The ministries of these people have personally influenced me. Some of them have already joined Jesus in heaven after their hard work down here. I’m quite certain that they wished they could do more. They were humble Christians and powerful ministers of the Gospel. I wished I could just spend 1 hour with them and listen to their love for Christ. They have given me good examples to follow. But I’m not as pious as them. These Christians lived a radical life. In October 1830, Mueller decided that he would make his request only to God alone and not run into debts to sustain himself and his ministry. 68 years later when he died, God provided 7.5 million dollars. We are talking about year 1830, no one who ever lived received so much from above. This man had faith. I read the Holiest of All, Like Christ, The True Vine and several others by Murray. This man is a bible teacher I learned much from.

When I see such a cloud of witnesses, I feel so guilty of living a mediocre Christian life.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.” Hebrews 12:1

I should throw away everything that hinders me from serving Christ and growing. Sin should not find root in me. I should become like Christ and someone who ministers God’s truth humbly and boldly:

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth. ” 2 Tim 2.
Many times people tell me that I have this calling to be a pastor. But I know God has not gifted me to be a pastor. God called me to teach the Gospel. I do not have the slightest doubt about it. He has gifted me for that. He has been so patient to form me and teach me. When I don’t serve Him enough or sin, I feel guilty because God has invested so much in me and I wished I could deliver more. I do not deserve that He invested so much in me. When God reminds me that I did not do a work He asked me to do, I’m ashamed and repent because I know that He invested in me so that I can be a vessel through whom He can bless others. Much will be asked to whom much has been given.

But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.” Luke 12:48

I have been so lazy and I know that God could have used me to bless others but I was not available to Him. It’s a sin. There’s no such thing as lazy Christians. “Lazy Christian” is an oxymoron. I have not been a good steward of what Christ has entrusted me.

Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 4:10

The fields are white, people are in sin’s slavery and I’m not witnessing enough to them. I’m in a comfort zone, I’ve got a job, clothes, a house and food. God is also faithful to leave His peace and joy in my heart so I’m a happy man. But I know I’m not doing enough. 5 years ago(2007) I was more consecrated than now. Since I completed my tertiary studies and started to work, my life completely changed and I started to get less of quality time to spend with Him. All of a sudden I found myself becoming lazy and lacking zeal. I’m struggling.

What had happened to me? Yeah I know. The Epistle teaches it well, it is negligence and lack of discipline. I have the knowledge of the causes but I do not have the strength to apply what I know.

My heart is satisfied each time I have the opportunity to teach and share the gospel. This is what I should do no matter what people say and even if times are not favorable. I cannot blame anyone for not giving me the opportunity to serve Christ. The service is rendered to Him and not dependent on and unto man.
Should God ask me to leave my job and my country to teach the Gospel of Jesus Christ? Yeah He can do it and that would be a radical change in my life. I wish I could offer my whole life for the sake of Christ and His Gospel. I want to spend hours sharing and teaching the word until my mouth dries up and I can no longer speak. But it might not be God’s plan to send me abroad. With my actual comfortable way of living, I see myself living an easy life. My time, heart, body and mind are not entirely under Christ’s leadership. I want Him to be the Master of everything I am. What shall I do? I do not have the strength to pull myself from this cocoon. I would like Christians around me to have an intimate relationship with Christ. This is a strong desire within me. I pray now that God pulls me out of this comfort zone and makes me the minister He wants me to be for His glory.

A song I would like to share:

Leave a Reply

