Epistle to the Hebrews (9:15)   Leave a comment

Epistle to the HebrewsThat is why he is the one who mediates a new covenant between God and people, so that all who are called can receive the eternal inheritance God has promised them. For Christ died to set them free from the penalty of the sins they had committed under that first covenant.”  Hebrews 9:15

That is why this culminates to the ultimate fact that He is “THE ONE” and only!

We went through some powerful arguments in the previous verses. The fact that He is the perfect sacrifice justifies why the “This is why He is the One”. Not anyone else, there’s no equal or nearly equal to Him. It’s an indisputable matter that it is Him who should hold this role of Mediator.

This is good and pleases God our Savior, who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth. For there is only one God and one Mediator who can reconcile God and humanity—the man Christ Jesus. He gave his life to purchase freedom for everyone. This is the message God gave to the world at just the right time.” 1 Tim 2:3-6

When God called Moses to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt and be a mediator of God’s covenant to Israel, we read:

God answered, “I will be with you. And this is your sign that I am the one who has sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you will worship God at this very mountain.”But Moses protested, “If I go to the people of Israel and tell them, ‘The God of your ancestors has sent me to you,’ they will ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what should I tell them?”God replied to Moses, “I Am Who I Am. Say this to the people of Israel: I Am has sent me to you.” God also said to Moses, “Say this to the people of Israel: Yahweh, the God of your ancestors—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.This is my eternal name,my name to remember for all generations.” Exodus 3:12-15

I AM was God’s name because He was the One who was everything. He is self sufficient. This summarised what He was going to be to Israel. If Israel asked how will that be possible and who is this God who will do that, Israel only needed to know : “Israel,  I am going to lead you out of Egypt, I am going to feed you, I am going to protect you, I am going to give you the land and I am going to bless you. I am going to be all you need, I will provide. My name is I AM because I AM all you need

Jesus also made this striking statement that He is the I AM. He proved there that He is what He has always been i.e. eternally existent. It was clear in this context that Jesus was referring to this event in Exodus 3 and declared Himself to be this I AM.

Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth, before Abraham was even born, I Am!” At that point they picked up stones to throw at him. But Jesus was hidden from them and left the Temple.” John 8:58

Do you understand what it means that He is the One, the I AM? Every mouth should shut, knees bow down and contemplate who He is. God presented Himself as the One who will lead Israel out of Egypt and He did it. Now Jesus presented Himself as the One who was going to lead us to salvation. Let us go through some statements Jesus said.

Jesus emphatically said that “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. If you had really known me, you would know who my Father is.From now on, you do know him and have seen him!”

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”Jesus replied, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and yet you still don’t know who I am?

Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father! So why are you asking me to show him to you?Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I speak are not my own, but my Father who lives in me does his work through me.

Just believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me. Or at least believe because of the work you have seen me do.” John 14:6-14

I AM the bread of life“. John 6:48

I AM the resurrection and the life” John 11:25.

I AM the light of the world” John 8:12

I AM the true Vine” John 15:1

When you have lifted up the Son of Man on the cross, then you will understand that I AM he.John 8:24

It was clear to the high priest and anyone that Jesus claimed to be Messiah. Jesus did not deny who He was and this eventually led to His death for He implicitly claimed to be God.

Then the high priest asked him, “Are you the Messiah, the Son of the Blessed One?”Jesus said, “I Am.And you will see the Son of Man seated in the place of power at God’s right hand and coming on the clouds of heaven.”Then the high priest tore his clothing to show his horror and said, “Why do we need other witnesses? You have all heard his blasphemy. What is your verdict?”“Guilty!” they all cried. “He deserves to die!” Mark 14:62

Jesus also proved He was God because He forgave sins. Not a prophet in the bible could forgive sins. Only God can forgive sins. Jesus did it.

Is it easier to say to the paralyzed man ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or ‘Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk’?So I will prove to you that the Son of Manhas the authority on earth to forgive sins.” Then Jesus turned to the paralyzed man and said, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and go home!” Mark 2:10

Do you believe that JESUS is the I AM, the everything you need? He alone can lead you to heaven. He is the perfect mediator and the only One who has the credentials to guarantee this new covenant between God and man. Only Jesus can give you eternal life.

Jesus presented Himself as the Mediator because He was the only One who could hold this office. Jesus said to God :

Look, I have come to do your will.” He cancels the first covenant in order to put the second into effect. For God’s will was for us to be made holy by the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ, once for all time.” Hebrews 10:9

Consider Jesus, consider this man who said He was the One, the I AM. Anyone who trust in Him will not be deceived.

As the Scriptures tell us, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be disgraced.” Romans 10:11

Posted February 13, 2013 by Cedric in Theology

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

