Be still, and know that I am God!   2 comments

Be still my soul!

Be still my soul!

Be still, and know that I am God!I will be honored by every nation.I will be honored throughout the world.” Ps. 46:10

The word “Be still” used literally means to cease, to abate yourself and be idle in Hebrew translation. I recently shared about being still with some youths. Many voices are persistently calling out for our attention in this world whether it be work, friends, family and church. We are being pulled here and there and we are exhausted, we no longer know how to divide our energy and time.  We find out that we cannot please everyone. I’m in my mid twenties and as many young people around me, it’s during this time that we lay our base for our future. Should I take on new academic courses? Where should I work? Whom should I marry? Am I taking the right decision? How will I be able to serve God more? A wrong decision we take now will have repercussion in our future and we young people need to be careful about our plans. Throughout our lives, we’ll have successions of decisions to take. Family will tell you to do this and acquaintance will suggest you something else. In all this you are the one being perplexed and perhaps stressed.  When we push God away from our life, we will most likely get depressive and have a face like the picture above! Your life is like pieces of scattered puzzles and you have to fix each of them one at a time. Usually on puzzle boxes, we have the image which gives us hints but it’s different with life for we do not know the big picture and we eventually end up messing up. How to get rid of all this pain? Should we take weeks of vacations to stop bothering? You cannot stop the wind to blow nor can you get rid of all these voices. You have to deal with them.

I found out peace in Ps. 46:10. I said to my soul “Be still” for Jesus whispered “Do not worry”.

So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Mat 6:31

Jesus knows that the human heart worries and He gave us rest by saying that our Father knows all our needs. God is in control. Where is God when it hurts? He is reigning on the throne my friend.

Let us not allow anything dominate our thoughts. Worrying is a sin because we refuse to have faith. We refuse to have faith because we want to fix it all by ourselves and push God away. If you can really fix it all, why did you fail in some areas of your life then?

The solution to all this is simple, listen only to one voice and let that voice be God’s voice. Let God have His say in your family, work, church and relationships. Let Him have the final say and prioritise all these things you know not how to deal with. Will you give your attention to God right now? Yield to God. This yielding action, even if it sounds contradictory from what we think is logical to do, is a freeing process. You’re yielding to become free.

Put a halt now, calm down. Cease all your activities and rest. Stop worrying and fix your eyes on the Son of God, the perfector of your faith (Hebrews 12:2).  Think about Jesus alone and worship Him. Have only one captain on your ship to avoid shipwreck in your life. God alone has the big picture of this complex puzzle called life. Only one thing Jesus wants you to know, “Be still and know that I am God”. Be still and know who He is and what He can do. Why are you weary my soul? Trust in God and praise Him.

Let the mountains tremble, let there be earthquakes, let the oceans aggressively roar and foam as you decide to listen to only God’s voice. You shall not fear for the Lord your God is with you. He will be your refuge and strength in times of trouble.

God is our refuge and strength,always ready to help in times of trouble.So we will not fear when earthquakes come and the mountains crumble into the sea.Let the oceans roar and foam. Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge!

We read in Hebrews 13:5,6

Don’t love money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said,“I will never fail you.I will never abandon you.”So we can say with confidence,“The Lord is my helper,so I will have no fear.What can mere people do to me?

What can people do to you? At the extreme case, they might kill you but does it really matter if your treasure is in heaven? What will you lose anyway?

God has been with David in 1 Chronicles 28:20 : ““Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Don’t be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. He will see to it that all the work related to the Temple of the Lord is finished correctly.”

God has been with Joshua in the conquest of Canaan: ““Be strong and courageous! For you will lead these people into the land that the Lord swore to their ancestors he would give them. You are the one who will divide it among them as their grants of land. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord will personally go ahead of you. He will be with you; he will neither fail you nor abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

May I end with this beautiful gift verse my Good Lord said: “I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” John 14:27

Jesus’ peace in you is soothing, for it brings hope, love and joy.

Posted March 12, 2013 by Cedric in Thought-provoking

Tagged with , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Be still, and know that I am God!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Cedric, it’s been a while since I’ve been on here. This post seems to indicate that, whilst we differ in ages, God is leading us in a similar direction, that of focussing on Him when all around us is chaos and rush, busyness etc.

    This post beautifully puts down what we need to do. Recently God has been impressing on me the need to turn to Him when I am struggling with wayward emotions because of all that is going on around me. We cannot stop life happening but we can calm our spirits and turn to the One who brings us peace and rest and is in complete control of our circumstances.

    Keep writing.

  2. Hello, I also visited your recent post on how you’re facing your emotions. We turn our eyes on Him and find rest for our soul even though the stuff bothering us won’t just disappear. But after we met with our Lord and face again these things again, we are stronger to deal with them.

    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

