Whom shall I send?   1 comment

Send me

Send me

Then I heard the Lord asking, “Whom should I send as a messenger to this people? Who will go for us?” I said, “Here I am. Send me.” Isaiah 6:8

These were the words of Isaiah when he had a vision of God and felt down to his knees. He was a man like us who sinned by his words and thoughts. He said “It’s all over! I am doomed, for I am a sinful man. I have filthy lips, and I live among a people with filthy lips.”

God has always been choosing ordinary people who demonstrated interest for his kingdom to do mighty things.

When God called Hosea to talk to Israel, He said : “When the Lord first began speaking to Israel through Hosea, he said to him, “Go and marry a prostitute,so that some of her children will be conceived in prostitution. This will illustrate how Israel has acted like a prostitute by turning against the Lord and worshiping other gods.” Hosea 1:2

It’s quite astonishing what God asked Hosea to do. God loved Israel and but Israel was worshiping idols. This broke God’s heart. To illustrate how He felt by what Israel was doing, God asked Hosea to take Gomer. Gomer was an unfaithful woman and even when Hosea married her she continued to run after other men. But Hosea demonstrated amazing love by not rejecting her even if she persisted in her unfaithfulness.

Then the Lord said to me, “Go and love your wife again, even though she commits adultery with another lover. This will illustrate that the Lord still loves Israel, even though the people have turned to other gods and love to worship them.” Hosea 3:1

Israel was nothing, God made Israel a great nation and now Israel rejected Him. But God did not reject Israel.

Yes sometimes God used some prophets to share the burden He had in His heart.

God heard the cries of Israel in Egypt so He sent Moses to deliver them from the oppression of Pharaoh.

I have certainly seen the oppression of my people in Egypt. I have heard their cries of distress because of their harsh slave drivers. Yes, I am aware of their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them from the power of the Egyptians and lead them out of Egypt into their own fertile and spacious land…Now go, for I am sending you to Pharaoh. You must lead my people Israel out of Egypt.” Exodus 3:7

God’s heart was aching when He saw His people oppressed and the time came for Him to act. Once again God asked a man to do something amazing. He called Moses to lead these people out of Egypt.

Of course Moses protested for a while and said : “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?

When Israel rejected theocracy and wanted a king to rule on them, Samuel said: “Look,” they told him, “you are now old, and your sons are not like you. Give us a king to judge us like all the other nations have.”Samuel was displeased with their request and went to the Lord for guidance. “Do everything they say to you,” the Lord replied, “for it is me they are rejecting, not you. They don’t want me to be their king any longer. Ever since I brought them from Egypt they have continually abandoned me and followed other gods. And now they are giving you the same treatment. Do as they ask, but solemnly warn them about the way a king will reign over them.”

When Ezra saw the spiritual state of Israel, he wept and called people to repentance.

While Ezra prayed and made this confession, weeping and lying face down on the ground in front of the Temple of God, a very large crowd of people from Israel—men, women, and children—gathered and wept bitterly with him.”

We see something similar with Nehemiah. He identified himself with the people and asked for forgiveness. He pleaded for Israel like Ezra and Moses did. The walls of Jerusalem were in ruined and this really troubled him.

Things are not going well for those who returned to the province of Judah. They are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem has been torn down, and the gates have been destroyed by fire.”When I heard this, I sat down and wept. In fact, for days I mourned, fasted, and prayed to the God of heaven.” Nehemiah 1:4

Will you be that person with whom God will share His burden? Will you be that person who will be rejected because you’re calling people to repentance? Will you be that voice in the desert? Will you be that person who mourns because of sins in the church, because the lost are not being reached and Christian organizations are ruined? Will you stand as Hosea and still love an unfaithful wife like Christ still loves an unfaithful church? Will you have such stubborn love for wandering Christians? God is still calling out “Whom shall I send?”.  “Who will speak for me to this unfaithful nation?”. Hosea did speak for years but Israel refused to listen. Will you give up because hearts are hardened?

We read in Hebrews 10:  “That is why, when Christ came into the world, he said to God,“You did not want animal sacrifices or sin offerings.But you have given me a body to offer. You were not pleased with burnt offerings or other offerings for sin.Then I said, ‘Look, I have come to do your will, O God-as is written about me in the Scriptures.’” Hebrews 10:5-7

The Father’s heart was broken with all the wandering people. They were like sheep without a shepherd.

When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them because they were confused and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. He said to his disciples, “The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.” Mat 9:36

Jesus came to deliver the world from the bondage of sins. He looked at the Father and said He would do what was required to justify man. This cost Him His life to redeem us. He did God’s will because He felt exactly what there was in the Father’s heart.

In Mark 9:7 we read : “This is my dearly loved Son. Listen to him.”

If there was a man who really understood what the Father felt in His heart, it was the Son. He came because He knew the Father’s love for humanity(John 3:16). So our Lord Jesus presented Himself before God’s throne saying ” Look, I have come to do your will“.

Paul’s heart was heavy because the Jews rejected the Messiah. Jeremiah was lamenting because of Israel’s sin but how about you?

Will you share in the Lord’s yoke? Will you work for the kingdom of God?

Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Mat 11:29

I don’t know about you but my heart aches with the lack of knowledge amongst God’s people. Christians are going astray and they know not their Christ. It is a tragedy. They still need to be reminded the basic teachings of Christianity and feed up with milk. Christians are lukewarm and are not engaged.

There is much more we would like to say about this, but it is difficult to explain, especially since you are spiritually dull and don’t seem to listen.You have been believers so long now that you ought to be teaching others. Instead, you need someone to teach you again the basic things about God’s word. You are like babies who need milk and cannot eat solid food. For someone who lives on milk is still an infant and doesn’t know how to do what is right. Solid food is for those who are mature, who through training have the skill to recognize the difference between right and wrong.” Hebrews 5:11

It is not because God is weak that He is calling out for people. It is because He has friends. When our Lord was in agony in Gethsemane, He had no one to support Him. The disciples were tired and were not there for their friend. They did not have to go to the cross, they only had to watch out a single hour with Him. Jesus said:

Then he returned to the disciples and found them asleep. He said to Peter, “Couldn’t you watch with me even one hour?” Mat 26:40

In the parable of the feast, many gave excuses for their absence (Luke 14:19).

“I just married, I can’t now. I have a new business and I need to look at my future.”

Everyone needs to take care of his family. It is a legitimate need but unfortunately the Kingdom of our Lord is often not on the top of our plans. We have other priorities. It is a burden on our Lord’s heart to spread the Good News to the whole world and make disciples (Mat 28). God wants all men to be saved. The harvest is great, but the workers are few. God could have delivered Israel without Moses or bring the people in Canaan without Joshua but still He wanted to do it through His faithful servants.

We are often not available for service and this is why our Lord cries out  “Whom shall I send?”.

Will you respond to His call and say “Here I am send me?”.

Posted March 31, 2013 by Cedric in My writings (English)

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “Whom shall I send?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. been convicted on this recently and also about not giving up hope on unsaved family members, to keep praying and keep being ready to speak if it is the right timing.

Leave a Reply

