Epistle to the Hebrews (13:22-25)   Leave a comment

Epistle to the Hebrews

Epistle to the Hebrews

I urge you, dear brothers and sisters, to pay attention to what I have written in this brief exhortation.I want you to know that our brother Timothy has been released from jail. If he comes here soon, I will bring him with me to see you.Greet all your leaders and all the believers there. The believers from Italy send you their greetings.May God’s grace be with you all.” Hebrews 13:22-25

In his concluding words, our author recommends that the readers take heed to his exhortations. It was a breath taking letter concerning Jesus’ sovereignty, His ministry and major doctrines. Our author urged the readers to consider what he was able to put in writing. As mentioned earlier, our epistle is hugely compacted with teachings and requires the readers to examine a few verses at a time, in the light of the whole scripture. Our author adopted an argumentative style to reinforce all his exhortations. Our author did not leave the readers guessing but supported his arguments through scripture. This is probably what makes our epistle so powerfully established as an authority regarding the deity of Christ and His sacrificial work. As a previous skeptic concerning the deity of Christ, I bowed to my knees and closed my mouth when I realised that I was kicking against the goads. I felt like Job who said:

The Lord said to Job:“Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him? Let him who accuses God answer him! ”Then Job answered the Lord:“I am unworthy—how can I reply to you?I put my hand over my mouth.I spoke once, but I have no answer—twice, but I will say no more.” Job 40:1-5

I’m grateful to God for His patience to teach me about His Son in this epistle.

In the introduction of our epistle, we saw that our author worked with Timothy and was in Rome (Titus 3:12, Acts 28:31). This is a probably a hint that the author could be Paul. Adam Clarke had the hypothesis that the introduction to the epistle was lost which could explained why we have an anonymous author. It is always an honor to send salutations to co-workers of the gospel. We are all united in Christ and soldiers of the same army. Christ has only one bride and there’s only one global church. We share the same faith and it’s always an honor to meet a Christian. Is not it a blessing when a Christian wishes wholeheartedly “May God’s unmerited favor rest upon you”  ?

I picture the salutations of Christians as 2 soldiers of the same army who for some spiritual reasons crossed each other for a while on the battlefield. They know they will never meet again because they have other duties just after. They tell each other to take courage, take care and persevere. They look at each other with eyes of love and quickly connect. Even if they do not know each other, they will not hesitate to risk their lives to protect their companion. We can be in different ministries or battles but we are in the same war.  We wait for Christ’s Kingdom to come.

Our war is not “against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms” Eph. 6:12

These words : “Greet all your leaders and all the believers there” seem to me like a high profile general greeting other generals and their soldiers.

Paul said in Romans 16:16-20:

Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the churches of Christ send greetingsThe God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you.”

Let us not imagine that God’s frequent silence to the sin around the world infers that the God of peace is also at peace with Satan. Satan’s defeat will soon be consumed.

Posted October 19, 2013 by Cedric in Theology

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

