Pride, the root of every sin and evil [Part 1]   Leave a comment

Pride

Pride

God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble” James 4:6

Pride is a sin that God abhors so much, that He has put Himself in direct opposition against prideful hearts. Who will be able to resist when God stands against him/her?

We read in the book of proverbs (16:18): “Pride goes before destruction,a haughty spirit before a fall“. Those who opposes the Lord will be broken as we read in the book of Samuel (1 Sam. 2:10).

Every sin originates from pride. Pride is the desire to exalt self and rebel against God’s authority. It is the refusal to obey what is right to satisfy one’s own desires. The book of Isaiah talks about Nebuchadnezzar whose heart was aspiring a glory equal to God.

You said in your heart,I will ascend to the heavens;I will raise my throne above the stars of God;I will sit enthroned on the mount of assembly,on the utmost heights of Mount Zaphon. I will ascend above the tops of the clouds;I will make myself like the Most High.”But you are brought down to the realm of the dead,to the depths of the pit.” Is. 14:12-15

5 times the “I will” spoke. It was the self which was arising that it caused spiritual blindness to the point of desiring to become like God Almighty.

We see something similar concerning the King of Tyre:

In your great pride you claim, ‘I am a god!I sit on a divine throne in the heart of the sea.’ But you are only a man and not a god,though you boast that you are a god...Your heart was filled with pride because of all your beauty. Your wisdom was corrupted by your love of splendor. So I threw you to the ground” Eze. 28:2,17

In 2 Thessalonians 2:4, we also read that the antichrist will be manifested with pride and rebellion in his heart:

For that day will not come until there is a great rebellion against God and the man of lawlessness is revealed—the one who brings destruction.He will exalt himself and defy everything that people call god and every object of worship. He will even sit in the temple of God, claiming that he himself is God.

Pride in essence despises authority, laws, code of conducts, ethics, established rules and regulations.This is how Satan inspired dictators like Hitler to rise above. When God sees pride in the heart of man, He sees the work of the devil.

What was the devil’s intention in Eden? Was it not to entice man to become like God?

God knows that your eyes will be opened as soon as you eat it, and you will be like God, knowing both good and evil.” Gen. 3:5

I will do things my way. I am not accountable. I am the master of my destiny. I am smart, strong, beautiful, rich, powerful and can sustain my own existence. I do not need anyone, not even God.

Someone steals because of selfish desires. Self-worship or selfish ambitions all derive from the exaltation of “I”.

I have pride in my heart. This is a sin I’ll most probably not be able to get rid of entirely out of my flesh till my last breath.

Pride can be manifested in a plethora of ways. It could be in Position (society, church, family),Abilities (physical, intellectual, knowledge) ,wealth (Money, possessions) and even spiritual attainment (1 Cor. 4:6-7, 2 Cor 12:5).

For example we see that Uzziah became King, he got blessings from God, became rich and powerful. He eventually did like King Nebuchadnezzar, King of Tyre and the antichrist.

But when he had become powerful, he also became proud, which led to his downfall. He sinned against the Lord his God by entering the sanctuary of the Lord’s Temple and personally burning incense on the incense altar.” 2 Chr. 26:16

Pride ultimately culminates to make oneself appropriate God’s glory. This is what happened to another King, Herod.

When the day arrived, Herod put on his royal robes, sat on his throne, and made a speech to them. The people gave him a great ovation, shouting, “It’s the voice of a god, not of a man!”Instantly, an angel of the Lord struck Herod with a sickness, because he accepted the people’s worship instead of giving the glory to God. So he was consumed with worms and died. Ac. 12:22-23

Psychology has unfortunately concealed pride as personality types. So if you’re choleric, it justifies that you naturally despise others, dominate, confronts, has a high self-esteem, has bossy leadership or egocentric attitude.

Paul warned in the scripture to be careful of these kind of philosophies. We are indeed wired differently but it does not at all justify our prideful heart.

Our prayers to God Almighty everyday should be to show us where pride is (not if there is).

Posted April 15, 2014 by Cedric in My writings (English)

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

