Don’t be afraid. The I AM is here!   Leave a comment

Do not be afraid

Do not be afraid

But he called out to them, Don’t be afraid. I am here!” John 6:20

It was not the gale which caused the disciples to be afraid but the terrible sight of something which looked like a ghost/spectre/spirit (Matthew 14, Mark 6). In the Greek translation Jesus’ words meant something like “Do not be frightened, the I AM is here“.

Jesus’ reply was supposed to bring reassurance amidst the storm. The disciples had nowhere to flee away from this unknown presence. The gospel writers wrote what happened with no intention to put emphasis on the storm or Peter walking on the water. The core of the subject was the person of Jesus, what He said and what He did.

Why did Jesus insist for the disciple to sail? Was not it with the intent to reveal Himself more to them as the Ruler of the elements? He probably put them in the middle of a lake to manifest His glory and supremacy. In the gospel of Mark, the author mentioned that Jesus saw the disciples struggling against the wind and waves and He went towards them at around 3 o’clock in the morning. It was no coincidence, Jesus knew what would happened before the disciples left the shore.

Immediately after this, Jesus insisted that his disciples get back into the boat and head across the lake to Bethsaida, while he sent the people home. After telling everyone good-bye, he went up into the hills by himself to pray. Late that night, the disciples were in their boat in the middle of the lake, and Jesus was alone on land.” Mark 6:45-47

The disciples did not recognize that it was Jesus or could it be that they did not find it possible that it could be Him?

But Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage! I am here!”Then he climbed into the boat, and the wind stopped. They were totally amazed, for they still didn’t understand the significance of the miracle of the loaves. Their hearts were too hard to take it in.”

The disciples heart were too hard to understand with whom they were dealing with after the multiplication of the loaves. Jesus gave them another proof of His authority during that instant on the waters.

Matthew recorded 2 events not recorded in Mark. That moment when Peter walked on the water and the confession accompanied by the worship of the Son of God.

The night has fallen and the disciples probably had logical reasons to refuse to row on that lake. I believe Jesus orchestrated these events to enable the disciples to have more faith in Him. It was the only time it was recorded in the gospel that Jesus insisted for something. These were His disciples and they had a feeble faith. They were those who would soon have to be witnesses to the whole world and they were still unprepared for it and had no conviction. Unless He insisted, the disciples would have continued in their unbelief as it happened with the miracle of the multiplication of the bread.

When Jesus gave the command to His disciples, He reassured them by these words: “And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age” Mat. 28:20

There will still be storms but none of them we’ll go through alone. So behold the Son of God amidst the storm! Like the disciples we’ll fall down on our knees and worship Him when He will intervene to bring us miraculously quickly and safely ashore. All our trials are divinely orchestrated to make us know Jesus more and grow in faith. Even if I tell my wife “Don’t be afraid, I am here”, I am convinced that my good Lord is more capable to guarantee her security than I do.

Soon our trials will be over when the Son of God will take us home. Our Lord’s words during these times of trials and troubles are these:

Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am” John 14:1-3

Turn your eyes upon Jesus an trust in Him.

Don’t love money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said,“I will never fail you.I will never abandon you.” So we can say with confidence,“The Lord is my helper, so I will have no fear.What can mere people do to me?” Hebrews 13:5-6

Posted December 29, 2014 by Cedric in My writings (English)

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

