Without faith it is impossible to please God [Part 1]   Leave a comment

faith

Without faith it is impossible to please God

Hebrews 11:6

When we got married, my wife and I decided to live a life of faith. It was not because we lacked something but it was a lifestyle we wanted to have. It did not took long when God started to test our faith.

Dear brothers and sisters,when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.” James 1:3

Each time my wife and I had to exercise our faith, we developed more endurance and patience. The first time it all started was when we were looking for a piece of land and house to buy while preparing for marriage. It was a tough situation and each time our parents asked us where we were going to stay, we felt embarrassed as the wedding day was drawing closer. When I told my father that I was relying on God in this situation, he did not understand and thought I was not serious and taking things lightly. I failed many times to keep faith, I was worried, anguished and doubted but was each time, God’s word encouraged me and I had strength to persevere. I have seen miracles happen and God faithfully provided what we needed. When we decide to live by faith we’ve to face constraints like time and money. It is in these situations that we learn that time and money are not issues for God. His timing is perfect. God miraculously provided us a piece of land which we could not afford and orchestrated everything to get the house built.

Before I started to live by faith I was prideful in my heart and thought that everything I had, I got them because of my hard work. When I started to live by faith, it was evident to me that everything I had came from God. I have seen God’s thumbprint in the planks, bulbs and furniture we purchased. Living by faith should be a lifestyle and not the last resort.

Living by faith EVERYDAY

Most often, it’s when we cannot resolve our problems that we turn to God as last resort. We then trust God and have faith in Him. When God has answered our prayers and petitions, we give thanks and take again our destiny in our hands. This behavior gives little opportunity for our faith to grow since we’re not living daily by faith but occasionally when things get tough. The Teacher wants to disciple us to live by faith, one day at a time and not worry about tomorrow(Mat. 6:34). Jesus taught His disciples “Give us TODAY”our daily bread and not “Give us our bread for tomorrow”.

If you train yourself everyday to run 7 miles, when you’ll be asked to run 8 miles it will not be tough because you developed endurance daily. However, if you do not train yourself everyday, you’ll most likely see impossibilities everywhere and fail to complete your race.

If we want to live comfortably we’ll most likely never develop endurance in our faith. It is in adversity, incertitude and impossibilities that faith works better. If you have good health, food, money and have no time constraints then how will you be able to discover a Jesus who can heal the born blind, multiply breads and even raise the dead? I have witnessed that poor people have more faith than rich people because they rely on God EVERYDAY to get their daily bread.

The author of the Epistle to the Hebrews gave in chapter 11 examples of the champions of the faith. In Hebrews 12, he then described the people of God as running an individual race of faith in a stadium. Heroes of the faith like Abraham, Moses and Noah are watching and encouraging us to keep running.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith” Hebrews 12:1-2

Posted October 8, 2016 by Cedric in My writings (English)

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

